May 4, 2009

Happy anniversary…

Posted in Infertility, Life, Work at 9:55 am by lifebytheday

flowers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last Friday marked my three-year anniversary with the company (well two with the original company and almost a year since the sale).  Surprisingly, my team made a pretty big deal about it, which was silly, but sort of nice.  My boss is new as of January, so we still don’t know each other all that well, but she said some very nice things about my contributions and role on the team.  She works remotely from Chicago so she wasn’t here to “celebrate” with us, but she sent out an email to the team congratulating me, and even sent flowers and a balloon. 

The best part though was lunch out with my peer co-workers.  After two beers, a burger, and fries (yum! 😉 ), I was surprised to see the waitress coming over with piece of chocolate cake with a candle in it…at which point one of my co-workers started singing a vigorous rendition of the “Happy Birthday” song.  I literally couldn’t stop laughing long enough to even blow out the candle.  Turns out, he had no idea what we were actually celebrating!  LOL  😉 

Although three years is just a blink of an eye in terms of most people’s careers, it definitely gave me cause for reflection.  I don’t tell most people this, but I’ve never really put much thought into my “career.”  All I’ve ever wanted to be “when I grew up” was a wife and a mother, and the fact that the second part of that goal has been such a struggle, has been extremely difficult for me.  I’ve been lucky to find an industry that I actually enjoy (and am pretty good at, if I do say so myself 😉 ), especially after two failed attempts.  In fact, at home on Friday night I was talking to S and asked him “did you ever think I’d be celebrating three years at the same company?”  He was like, NOPE! 😛

I’ve always wanted to be a stay-at-home mom, and if I’m being completely honest, I entered the “workforce” fully expecting my stay to be short-term.  I hope that I’ll always be able to keep one foot in the door – much easier with publishing than in other industries – but I feel strongly that I want to be home to raise our kids.  But  what happens if we never have those kids??  Thoughts along those lines have been what pushed me to pursue teaching.  Especially now that S and I have to assume our own insurance in order for infertility to be covered, I’m feeling like a few more doors have opened in terms of my long term career.  I don’t know whether that means teaching down the road, or putting more effort into rising in the ranks here, or something else entirely.  But whatever it is, I guess it’s time for me to stop living (or at least working) in limbo…

1 Comment »

  1. Hi, good post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for blogging. I’ll likely be subscribing to your site. Keep up the good work


Leave a Reply

