April 15, 2009

Now what?

Posted in Infertility, Life at 4:28 pm by lifebytheday

Wow…I’m in shock.  I got some interesting news from my HR department this morning, and I don’t think it has hit me quite yet.  I’m still more surprised than upset.

To back up a bit…my company was sold last year, and as of June 2008, we became part of a larger publisher, that itself had been sold off from an even larger multi-faceted corporation.  I went from having full infertility coverage (a law in Massachusetts) to a $5,000 lifetime maximum for infertility treatments (that they got away with because of some loophole for “self-pay” companies) – which, you all know, lasts all of five minutes.  At the time, I was right in the middle of our last IVF cycle, and couldn’t believe what was happening.  I tried to talk to HR to see if there was anything they could do, but no luck.  We ended up paying for part of the cycle ourselves, and have been on a “break” until this July, because HR practically promised that when our new company changed the benefit plan for the next fiscal year, that the infertility coverage would change (for the better) as well.

Recently, I sent a note to HR asking if the benefit plan had yet been determined, for two reasons.  If not, I wanted to submit a letter to Corporate expressing my concerns and providing some statistics about the IF community – basically trying to make my case.  If they had already decided on the benefits, I wanted to know as soon as possible whether my treatments would be covered, so that I could start planning!

Here is the response that I got:
I did reach out to Corporate HR…to inquire about the new medical plan and infertility benefits that are part of that plan.  I wish I had a better update for you, but I learned that the infertility coverage with the new health plan will not be much different than the current plan’s offering.  I’d relayed your questions and feedback about the infertility coverage last summer/fall, but if you’d like to write a letter to personally express your concerns regarding this, please feel free to do so. 

The end.

She may as well have said “nope, tough luck…sucks to be you”!  So I’ve now wasted 6+ months waiting for benefits coverage, that will NEVER happen!!!  I like what I do, but really do not like the company – and this is a perfect example of why.  Now I have to decide whether I stay here and suck it up, take MORE of a break until we’ve saved up for another round of IVF, try to find a different job at a company with better insurance coverage, or move on to plan B. 

Last fall I started pursuing a teaching license, but when the economy went downhill, I got scared to leave my job to start at the entry level in another industry.  We would have had to assume the responsibility for all of our benefits through S’s company, AND start paying for the master’s degree that I’d need for a permanent teaching license.  In MA, I can teach with a temporary license while going to school, as long as I passed the licensing test (which I did).  I really think that, long term, teaching will be a better fit once we have a baby, but it’s terrifying to think of having to start over, while paying for IF treatments on our own.

Although, it’s equally terrifying to think of staying at this company, overworked and overstressed, with an hour and forty-five minute commute (each way), for no reason other than a paycheck (which I spend a good chunk of on my f-ing commute!).  Ugh, I just don’t know where I go from here…

3 Comments »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    Oh my…I am so sorry, that is a really sh%&y thing for your company to do, after all of that. I’m obviously in full support of whatever you do! To be honest, sometimes teaching seems like a neat option for me one day too, it’s the going back for a master’s that gets me 😉

  2. Jess said,

    Aw hun, I’m so sorry about such a setback, I wish I could do something to help! 😦 I’m here for you, whatever you need…it’s crazy to me that in this day and age, companies get get away with this type of HR bullsh*t! So not worth it…xoxo

  3. Amy said,

    Oh Jeannine, I’m so sorry to hear this. Bastards. 🙂 Good thing you have a few days off to be with your family and process the ridiculous news. I am an excellent sounding board for venting, should you need it. xo


Leave a Reply

