March 2, 2009

The power of words

Posted in Alternative therapies, Infertility at 10:05 am by lifebytheday

For the past few months, I’ve been doing acupuncture treatments, in addition to vitamins and herbal supplements, and an intense new diet (NO dairy or sugar…at all!).  I’ll talk more about those things later… 

But in addition to all of that, I’ve also recently started receiving shiatsu massage, which works with the same principles as acupuncture, but in a more hands-on, massage-based therapy.  The goal with this type of treatment is to get the energy flowing through my body in a more balanced way, hopefully kick-starting my cycle naturally…  At this point, I’ll try anything. 😉

So anyways, during my treatment this weekend, my masseuse was talking a lot about the power of words and thoughts.  That my past experiences have contributed to the way I think about my body, and that those thoughts can actually affect the way my body works.  If you think about that, it makes complete sense.  I’ve thought of myself as “broken” for so long, that I almost forget I have reproductive organs at all!  And I’m definitely not “connected” to them in any way… 😉  So why would they even bother trying to work again?

We discussed the need for me to shift my thoughts and feelings to a more positive view about my body…to stop re-hashing the problems and shortcomings, and start focusing on the way I’d like it to be. 

So with that goal in mind, here are the words that used to define me…

Infertile
     Broken
          Tired
     Lazy
Dysfunctional
     Blocked
          Stagnant
     Suppressed

 

And these are the words that I’m going to focus on from now on…

Active
     Supportive
          Flowing
     ALIVE
Open
     Balanced
          Energetic
     Vital
Maternal
     FERTILE!

Every time I think of a word from the first list, I’m going to throw that word away, and replace that thought with its opposite.  I think this is a good lesson for all of us, in all aspects of our life.  Words have the power to harm, but also the power to heal…so why not put them to good use!?!

Leave a Reply

