February 26, 2009

The Year of Living…

Posted in Books tagged , at 8:37 am by lifebytheday

I started reading a great book yesterday – The Year of Living Biblically, by A.J. Jacobs – and yes, it was a coincidence that I started it on Ash Wednesday.  I’m sure many of you have heard of this book, and as of page 150 or so, I can definitely say that it doesn’t disappoint.  Besides being very funny – one of my favorite parts so far is based on his discussion of not being able to touch women when they are “impure,” which leads to one of A.J.’s co-workers providing him with an Excel spreadsheet detailing her cycle (!) – it’s also very thoughtful.  I hope that reading this book will help me re-connect with my own faith.

I think that part of the reason I’ve been feeling extra down lately is because I’ve let my faith slip.  I am a pretty liberal Catholic, but I generally enjoy, appreciate, and value my faith, and in the past few months, I’ve foregone attending Mass in exchange for those few extra hours of sleep or time with S.  I went to AW services with my Mom last night, and left feeling such a sense of peace and hope.  I have some definite plans for Lent and I’m hoping that they will help get me in a better mental and emotional place for when we’re ready to start our next round of IVF.

Interestingly enough, A.J. and his wife also went through IVF, so there’s a lot of discussion in the book as to the moral consequences of that decision.  I don’t think I’ve reached his final word on the subject, but at the moment, A.J. and I agree that the commandment “be fruitful and multiply” justifies any means necessary. 

Wishing all of my fellow IF-sufferers peace and hope this Lenten season.  Here’s to “being fruitful”!

1 Comment »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    SO true…I am finding the same thing really helping, getting back to religion and my own relationship with God. Really does make a world of difference!


Leave a Reply

