January 13, 2010

Hoping and praying

Posted in Faith, Infertility, IVF tagged , , at 9:55 am by lifebytheday

Today at 6am I officially got back on the wagon – the IVF wagon, that is!  I did my first Lupron shot for our upcoming third (and hopefully final!) IVF cycle.  The Lupron shots are always the easiest (tiny needles), so it’s nice to be able to start with those.  Just grab a roll of belly fat and work away! ;-)

In honor of officially beginning my cycle, I joined my mother at daily mass this morning.  She had spoken with her favorite priest at our parish and asked him to say a blessing for me – at this point, I’ll take all the prayers I can get!  God bless Fr. Jean – he prayed over me for a good five minutes, despite the fact that his mind must have been miles away.  His family is from Haiti, the town of Port-au-Prince, which was hit most heavily by the devastation of yesterday’s earthquake.  Communication is still down between Haiti and the rest of the world, so he has no idea whether his family is safe.  It meant more than I can adequately convey that he took the time and energy to pray for me and to pass along strength and comfort to me.  Please join me in praying for Fr. Jean-Pierre and his family in this very scary time.

I also wanted to pass along a prayer that I discovered, that I know I will be repeating many times over the next month or so…

A Prayer to St. Gerard, the patron saint of Motherhood

O glorious Saint Gerard, powerful intercessor before God, and wonder worker of our day, I call upon you and seek your help. You who always fulfilled God’s will on earth, help me to do God’s holy will. Intercede with the Giver of life, from whom all parenthood proceeds, that I may conceive and raise children who will please God in this life, and be heirs to the kingdom of heaven. Amen.

Today, I am most thankful for my faith. God bless all of us.

4 Comments »

  1. jolene1079 said,

    This was such a powerful post J – gave me chills. The power of prayer and faith is so important and more vast than we can ever imagine. I am so glad your priest prayed for you and you went with your mom. That’s wonderful. I’ll be praying for you too!!!

  2. Jess said,

    Totally agree with Jo, totally touching and powerful. I needed to hear that today. ;) Faith is really all we have in this world, a very powerful and comforting thing isn’t it?

  3. K.M. said,

    Thanks for the uplifting post! I have not typically been a very religious person and the whole IVF experience has really made me think more about faith and hope. I have also been thinking a lot about the people in Haiti – definitely puts things in perspective.

  4. 21reena said,

    CONGRATS with the great start! I can’t believe you just posted the St. Gerard prayer – my friend just mailed me a necklace with a st gerard medal on it and a prayer – what a coinsidence!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

