August 28, 2009

Bathroom update (and weekend part 2)

Posted in Remodeling tagged , at 8:34 am by lifebytheday

As you all know, S and I are on the brink of a bathroom remodel and we’ve been doing things little by little so that we’re ready when our helpers arrive.  S has been itching to begin demo on the wall between the bathroom and guest room (we’ll be building a new one three feet further out), but I made him promise that he wouldn’t do anything until after our friends came over last Saturday night.

So after sleeping off our mini-hangovers Sunday morning, ;-) I started cooking breakfast and S disappeared upstairs.  All of a sudden, I heard a loud BANG!, ran upstairs…and found S, in his boxers, demolishing the guest room wall (at 8:30 in the morning)!!  I was like, “Umm hello?  What about a drop cloth…mask…shoes??  And couldn’t you wait until after breakfast?!?  Let’s just say the day went downhill from there. 

But really, this is a perfect example of how different S and I are, and why it takes both of us to make a fully functional household.  If I had my way, I would wait until the last possible minute to begin demo, so as to reduce the amount of time I was living in a construction zone (but also just because I’m a procrastinator).  On the other hand, when S gets an idea in his head, he begins right then and there, without much thought to the “process” (or the aftermath!).  If it was up to me, nothing would get done, and if up to him, we’d be living in a war zone! 

Some pictoral evidence from last weekend’s destruction:

P8230179

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

S hard at work ;-)

P8270193

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking out through where the medicine cabinet USED to be!

P8270194

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The view from the guest room
(This is the wall that will be knocked down…)

Oh well…all’s well that ends well…for now! ;-)

2 Comments »

  1. iamstacey said,

    OMG, you’ve got a lot on your plate! I wish my DH had even half of yours’ initiative! Great job on the pipes! We moved from a place with low water pressure to one with normal water pressure. We were there three months before we realized we could use both showers at the same time! We’d been so trained to take turns with water, we didn’t realize how much we could get done at once!

    Mmmm, Chinese sounds really good…

  2. Jess said,

    This is hysterical now that I see it all written down and the pics of S are a hoot. I know it’s not QUITE so funny from your perspective (wouldn’t be from mine either, trust me!), but love that you’re having fun with it, regardless ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

