August 18, 2009

Disappointment, drama, and delays

Posted in Infertility tagged , , at 3:13 pm by lifebytheday

Hi all, sorry I went MIA again.  I got some frustrating news towards the end of last week, and couldn’t bring myself to write a post that didn’t just scream “why meee?” 

Very long story short, due to several insurance changes at work, we are now completely self-pay for any future infertility treatments.  A year ago, my company was sold and I went from health insurance that covered infertility treatments at 100% (a law in MA) to insurance with a $5,000 lifetime maximum.  HR told me to “hang in there” until the end of the fiscal year (June 2009) when they would be switching insurance plans and would “hopefully” have better coverage for infertility.  Not only did that not happen, but they didn’t switch plans at all!  I was expecting to have another $5,000 to work with, at the bare minumum, but now have NOTHING! 

This is the main reason that S and I have been on a “break” for the past year – doing acupuncture, taking herbs, and making crazy diet changes – in the hopes that we’d have more financial resources at our disposal at this point in time.  Now we have to come up with $10K out of thin air, or delay our next cycle, AGAIN!

Out of necessity last week, I wrote a big long email to my boss asking for a raise, and also called my former boss to see if there were any openings at her company.  Now I have to decide whether it’s worth looking for a new job and potentially delaying treatments for at least three months after starting (so that I’d be eligible for paid maternity leave!), although I really feel like it would be bad form to start a new job and then get pregnant, lol.  Or do I fight with my company for a raise equivalent to at least one IVF cycle?  It’s just ludicrious that a company based upon educating the youth of America doesn’t support people trying to create more of those youth!  Ugh…!

3 Comments »

  1. Kari said,

    I’m so sorry. IF is hard enough and then dealing with insurance issues on top of that. It’s maddening. I’ve been reading your blog and I wish you luck in your journey.
    Kari
    http://karisbabysteps.blogspot.com/

  2. iamstacey said,

    It’s worth at least interviewing, and if you get offered the job, ask for a benefits package you can look over. Or, maybe changing jobs will give you the increased income you need. There’s no way we could even try for a baby if we didn’t have my hubby’s insurance. I can’t believe how insanely expensive it is!

  3. Jolene said,

    Awww…that really sucks. But I agree with at least looking at other jobs, you never know, and it might be worthwhile. Doesn’t hurt to check it out, right?! XOXO


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

