August 11, 2009

Never a dull moment

Posted in Remodeling tagged , , at 9:13 am by lifebytheday

Thought I’d switch gears today, and bring you all up to speed on the other things going on in our life.  Besides preparing for our next (and hopefully last!) IVF cycle, we’re also getting ready to remodel our bathroom.  For someone who is a serious procrastinator, and takes FOREVER to make decisions, this whole process has been agonizing. :-P  After much debate, and viewing of samples, S and I finally decided on the design/color scheme – white tiles (4×4 on the walls, and 8×8 on the floors), up to the mid-way point on the wall, with a pale gray paint above.  We’re also going to have a tile border that looks just like a chair rail (at chair rail height around the room), with 4″s of this glass tile border (under the chair rail, and above the white tile). 

P8100057

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our house is very traditional (a colonial built in the ’20’s), so with all of our design choices, we try to balance traditional elements with a slightly more contemporary look.  Our house also has painted white trim throughout (we didn’t do it, I promise!), so we thought we’d stick with the white look.  Plus, with this neutral palette, I can change up the shower curtain and towels and not feel stuck with a particular “look” for the next 20 years, lol! 

The next major decisions that need to happen are the vanity, sink, and countertop, and then we have to decide on the (whirlpool ;-)) tub.  Before we confirm all that though, S informed me that he has to cut a hole in the guest room wall (that we’re planning to move out to expand the bathroom) to confirm that it’s not a load-bearing wall, cut another hole in our future nursery wall to figure out exactly where the bathtub drain needs to be, and tear up some of the floor tiles to figure out what’s underneath.  We also have a mystery box at one end of the tub, that we’ve been afraid to tear in to, but that will also need to be investigated before we make our final plans.  S is planning to do all of these things little by little, so that if we run into issues, we can fix them before we line up friends and family to come help us put things back together.  But that means that I’ll gradually be living in a construction zone…!  S claims that he’ll keep it “neat” and that we’ll only need to move out for about a week, but I’m anticipating wanting to run away much sooner than that!

Besides the bathroom remodel, we also may be adopting a kitten in just under two weeks!  A friend from work is fostering a litter and I went to visit and fell in love.  We’ve been wanting to get another animal, but don’t think we can commit to training a second puppy with everything else that is going on, but a kitten might be just the thing.  What do you think of this little guy?  Isn’t he adorable??

0807091412a

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0807091324

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally, I thought I’d share a picture from our ride up to Maine last weekend.  This was after we’d finally got off the highway and out of traffic, and Bailey decided she needed some fresh air. ;-)

0807091838b

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hope you’re all having a good week!

4 Comments »

  1. iamstacey said,

    I love, love, love the glass tile border! I can’t wait to see what it looks like when it’s all done!

    Baily is an adorable puffball! Ooo, you have to adopt your little kitty. He’s so cute, I just want to squeeze him!

  2. Jess said,

    Oh.my.god. That picture of Bailey and S is a riot!!! I love the tile too and the whirlpool tub?? I am sooo moving in ;)

  3. jolene1079 said,

    LOVE the bathroom plan so far!! If I could take my bathroom with me, I would LOL! And the kitty is so so so cuuuute! And Bailey too :)

  4. Kari said,

    Hello,
    Thanks for checking out my blog. I came over here and read yours and when I read your infertility story section I was struck by how similar our stories are!!(In the begining, before all my nasty losses.) I love your blog!! Your puppy is soooooo cute & the kitty looks like it would fit perfect in your family!! Good luck on your journey!! I’ll be following your blog.
    Kari


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

